The CANN-NET Executive Committee will guide the CANN-NET working committees to:

  • Link Canadian kidney disease guideline producers, knowledge translation specialists and knowledge users to improve knowledge dissemination and care of patients with kidney disease, and
  • Bring together a national group of experienced Canadian researchers to address knowledge gaps by coordinating and executing multicentre clinical trials 


  • To ensure ongoing funding is available to enable work on CANN-NET priorities
  • To facilitate the work of the CANN-NET working committees
  • In order to meet the needs of knowledge users, to ensure that the cost implications of new interventions are considered, and that the needs of special populations such as children and Aboriginal People receive careful attention
  • To ensure adequate communication between knowledge users, and the five working committees
  • To solicit advice from the Senior Advisory Board on Strategic Direction 


  • Chair CANN-NET (Principal Investigator CIHR Grant 2011-14)
  • Members
    • Chair Canadian Society of Nephrology (CSN) guidelines committee
    • Chair(s) Knowledge Translation Committee
    • Chair Clinical Trials Unit
    • Chair Health Economic Advisory Group
    • Chair Pediatrics Committee
    • Principal Knowledge User
  • Kidney Foundation of Canada (KFOC) National Director of Research (administrative support)


The CANN-NET Executive Committee is accountable to the President of the CSN and the National Executive Director of KFOC


  • The Committee meets via online meetings, teleconference, email and other available technology
  • If the budget permits, the Committee may meet face-to-face biannually with the working committees, knowledge users and partners ideally in conjunction with other meetings
  • Minutes shall be kept for all meetings as a record of discussion and action steps 

Current membership of the CANN-NET Executive Committee



Institutional Affiliation

Braden Manns

Chair Executive Committee

University of Calgary, Calgary, AB.

Louise Moist

Chair Ad-Hoc guidelines committee

University of Western Ontario, London, ON

Joanne Kappel

Chair(s) Knowledge Translation Committee

Saskatoon Health Region, Saskatoon, SK

Brendan Barrett

Chair Clinical Trials Unit

Patient Research Centre, St. John’s, NL

Scott Klarenbach

Chair Health Economic Advisory Group

University of Alberta, Edmonton, AB

Susan Samuel

Chair Pediatrics Committee

University of Calgary, Calgary AB.

Adeera Levin

Chair Knowledge user committee

University of British Colombia, Vancouver, BC